Sometimes You’re the Rockcrusher…

…And sometimes you feel more like the crushed rocks. Magiba has been on a rock-crushing kick for the last few days. She’s been using one of John’s old bats and crushing limestone rocks from our driveway. She started doing that on her own but we turned it into a bit of a discovery lesson. The darker limestone has a tendency to sheer into thin slabs or shiny edges while the gray/white limestone is much easier to crush and looks a bit like quartz when it breaks apart. We’ll shine up a few of the broken pieces in the tumbler and see what they look like when they’re done.

As for feeling like crushed rocks, the temperature change has brought with it the onset of sinus troubles and Starshine’s down with a case of the nasties. She’s feeling pretty low but I think she’s on the mend, enough to be irritated and silently argumentative. (She doesn’t talk when she’s not feeling well.)

I started working on medium-sized orbs today but it seems I’ll either have to modify the pattern or order rings of a different gauge. They are too loose for normal sized marbles to fit solidly in them. This causes them to lose their nice round shape when they’re hanging. I’ll have to figure out some kind of nifty compromise. When I get it, though, I’ll be making sets of Christmas (or any holiday, really) ornaments.

I thought I’d share photos of Magiba crushing rocks. I used my phone to take and edit these photos.

Magiba crushing rocks with the bat

Magiba crushing rocks with the bat

White limestone after it was crushed

White limestone after it was crushed

Today’s quotes come from this page on ThinkExist.com.

“Obstacles cannot crush me. Every obstacle yields to stern resolve. He who is fixed to a star does not change his mind.” ~ Leonardo da Vinci

“Life beats down and crushes the soul and art reminds you that you have one.” ~ Stella Adler

I’m sure I mentioned before that we are anime fans and Bleach is one of our family favorites. I think part of the reason is the ability of the artists to convey this sense of massiveness in the fight scenes, each one being much ‘larger’ than the one before it. It makes you wonder how they could possibly do more or make a fight scene bigger…but they do! It amazes me. Another reason we really like Bleach is for the pretty impressive logic. I can actually use some of these scenes to get my kids thinking. This particular scene is about resolve and goes along well with the quotes and the rock crushing, I think. I hope you enjoy it as much as we do. While they are talking about fighting physical battles, the lesson I hope people take away from it is this: to do everything you do with all your heart, putting your whole self into it.

Leave a Reply

