All The Bells And Whistles

My favorite part of any project is the time of embellishment. I love to see what I can do with a few ribbons and beads and bits of metal. I’m usually quite surprised and happily satisfied with the results I get. I’ve learned that the winning points of any project are often found in the little details. For instance, the simplest gimp braid becomes quite fabulous when accenting another more intricate ribbon. Think Victorian dresses and you might get an idea of what I mean. Layering ribbons and trims adds texture and interest to your creation and it gives you an opportunity to explore new ways of being creative.

I’m working on the jacket that will top off my dress and I’ve layered a simple scroll braid, a net and ribbon rose trim, and another scroll braid. It gave me the exact look I was going for. I’m so pleased with the result! I will probably be finishing up the jacket tomorrow and my Mardi Gras dress/outfit will be complete. I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel.

“And let us not grow weary while doing good, for in due season we shall reap a harvest of blessing if we do not give up.” ~ The Bible ~ Galatians 6:9

Leave a Reply

