Goal Met!

Yesterday, I was able to meet one of my goals and it was done before the deadline. Woo-hoo! I can’t quite feel completely relieved yet. I have to wait for a return reply. For now, I can only take comfort in the fact that we did our best and will continue to do so, no matter what. I am relieved that one of my deadline items is done, at least on my part.

On another note, we’re getting a dusting of snow. Schools and businesses are closing because of the terrible road conditions. I still can’t help but chuckle at that. But I don’t think we even have businesses that sell the kinds of things to make our vehicles safe for winter weather travel. We usually have fairly mild winters. The worst we usually get is a nasty, damp, and cold wind on days when the sun doesn’t come through the clouds. It’ll be interesting to see what we wake up to in the morning. The first thing the girls asked was if they’d have a day off of school tomorrow. I had to chuckle at that one. No day off for them. But we’re really enjoying the things we’re learning in the books this year.

The girls and IĀ  gathered a few oranges and grapefruits from our trees today. I figured it would be better to rescue a few of them in case the trees are covered in ice tomorrow. I’m really looking forward to freshly squeezed orange juice. It’s been about a year since we’ve had any so it’ll be a real treat! John and I have opted for fresh juices, organic juices, or no juice at all. It just doesn’t pay to drink all that added sugar.

Isn’t it amazing how much brighter things can be when you make up your mind to alter your perspective a little bit? We’ve had a couple of really rough months and we could mope about it all but… Since that’s counter-productive, it’s better to change our perspective. I’ll choose to look forward to tomorrow and the things it will bring. See you all then!

The world is round and the place which may seem like the end may also be only the beginning.”Ā  ~Ivy Baker Priest

Leave a Reply

