Winter Weather Is Great For Creativity

This cold weather is definitely not the norm for Louisianians! Brrr!!! We had sleet this morning and snow this afternoon. It was just a light dusting, though. I hear there is at least one bridge closed because of ice accumulation and I-10 is closed from the Mississippi Bridge all the way down to New Orleans! I’ve never heard of that happening before.  Today we spent some time filling jars with water, baking biscuits and fruit, and making a huge pot of chicken soup. I really hope all this preparation is not necessary, though.

When I had time to sit down today, I went on a Weave Search, looking for new chainmail weaves I thought I might like to try my hand at. I found two that looked like they might work for the new collar-style necklace I’d like to create. You can click here to see the Celtic Knot Spiral weave, and here to see Brejão Flowers weave. I’m also checking out a weave called ‘Moorish Rose‘ which I may use instead of Brejão Flowers, as I find it more intricate and beautiful. I can’t wait to get started but I will have to. I have something more important to do first!

I got a couple of custom orders in so I’ll be starting on those first thing tomorrow. Hooray for custom orders! So far, all my custom orders have been lot fun. I love seeing the smiles on the faces of my customers, or reading their happy messages, when they receive their completed orders. Good stuff! I’ll share photos of the completed projects as soon as I’m done. It’ll be much easier to photograph those than it has been to photograph my dress and jacket, but I will get photos posted. I’m not sure when but I want to try to get some tomorrow when the ice is still on the ground. It should make a fabulous setting for the style and color of my outfit.

I need to stop here for today. I’ve done quite a lot and I’m looking forward to a restful evening.

If passion drives you, let reason hold the reins.”  ~Benjamin Franklin

Leave a Reply

