Peacefully Hectic Day

You’re laughing now, aren’t you? I know at least a couple of our faithful readers are. I stayed focused on completing tasks all day today. This is why I think I felt a bit more at peace today. I was working diligently at something I know how to do and can do fairly well. I was completing tasks with competence. I felt like I accomplished quite a lot. So, why is that word ‘hectic’ included in the title? Well, let’s just say that from the time my feet hit the floor this morning, things didn’t go quite as I had planned. I could’ve grumbled and complained and spread the gospel of misery everywhere I went to every person I came into contact with. But I didn’t! I’m so happy to say that I didn’t do that. I might’ve done just that several years ago but I didn’t do it today. And that, my Friends, is a victory for me and for all the people I didn’t grumble towards. Who wants to look at a sour face or listen to negative words all day? If you’ve been reading the blog for a while, you may have gathered that I don’t function at my best when plans get changed at the last minute. I’m usually at my worst during those times. I’m just really glad that I know now that I /can/ do better, be a better human, and still be me. I’m not “chipper” by nature but neither am I rude or sour. So I finished my work and came home and finished up school with the kids. We ended our day with a fabulous family meal, at which I was able to meet an old acquaintance from elementary school. We really enjoyed telling stories and laughing together while enjoying our food. A meal really is better when eaten with someone else.

I think one thing that contributed to my better attitude today was the fact that part of my plans pertaining to home stayed as they were originally intended. Another helpful thing was that all of my tasks at work were lined up, ready to go. Having order when you’re working on something is important to the completion of the task. Not everyone will be able to work with the same kind of order. (My usual workspace would be a nightmare for some folks! But it works for me.) I know that there are some people who practice, “A neat workspace is a safe workspace.” There’s a lot to be said for that kind of statement. Neatness and order contribute a lot towards helping one’s mental and emotional state to be at peace. But it’s also a choice. You can choose to function in a state of peace, as well. Making the determination to work that way helps a lot. I hope these words inspire someone else to walk forward and choose peace.

Anyone can carry his burden, however hard, until nightfall.  Anyone can do his work, however hard, for one day.  Anyone can live sweetly, patiently, lovingly, purely, till the sun goes down.  And this is all life really means.”  ~Robert Louis Stevenson

Give thanks for what you are now, and keep fighting for what you want to be tomorrow.” ~Fernanda Miramontes-Landeros

Leave a Reply

