Fabulous Friday 26

Welcome to another Fabulous Friday! We’ve decided to wait a year before trying to get Magiba to participate. I think it’s overwhelming for her. So I will be posting the promos today.

There are two Mexican restaurants in our town. Both have their good points. For better atmosphere and a little more elbow room, I recommend Mañana. Their guacamole is pretty awesome and their chalupas are super yummy. If you enjoy margaritas, I recommend Hacienda Real. My stepmother-in-law really enjoyed the ‘rita she got there. I like the shrimp burrito and beans at Hacienda Real. I usually eat vegetarian at Mexican restaurants but sometimes, I like to mix it up. The food is fabulous at both restaurants, as well as the service. So if you have a hankering for great Mexican food, do stop in at one of these restaurants in Eunice, LA.

It’s Mardi Gras season, and that is synonymous with king cakes. To read a nicely written and quite short history of king cakes, click here. A king cake can be purchased ready-made or special-order from any one of the local bakeries in the area. You can also purchase king cakes at any of the local stores which has a deli-bakery…but I highly recommend you have your first taste of king cake from a local bakery. Most people agree that Meche’s Donuts, in New Iberia, and Ruddock’s Bakery, in Crowley, are two great places to buy a king cake. I prefer Ruddock’s because I like the glaze they use better. I normally prefer a cream cheese filling but lately it seems the bakers are adding a lot of sugar to the filling. I prefer it to be more on the tart side, as it seems to really complement the sweet glaze and cinnamon bread. You can make your own king cake. Here are a few recipes, if you’d like to give one a try.

To top off a Mardi Gras party, you might be interested in /responsibly/ adding some Abita Beer to the menu. They are based in Abita Springs, LA. John’s favorite is the amber and many of our friends really enjoy the strawberry. The brewery offers tours, which we are planning to check out one day soon. Perhaps we’ll try to do that in the spring. (Oh, and, as per internet safety for minors guidelines, you may be directed to a different page than the ‘about’ page when you click on the above link.)

“You know how I feel about tacos. It’s the only food shaped like a smile. A beef smile.” ~ Danielle Sachez

A little madness in the Spring
Is wholesome even for the King.”
~Emily Dickinson

Once, during Prohibition, I was forced to live for days on nothing but food and water.”  ~W.C. Fields

I will give our readers a warning. This video is not for the easily offended. Zig is a friend of ours and he’s good at what he does. This is rap music and there are expletives throughout. I make no excuses because none are needed. The lyrics are clearly understood and he wrote them well. I don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before or not but we are completely against censorship of music, as it would be the same to us as defacing a work of art. So, without further ado, please listen to Zig the Ripper and I really hope he goes to marvelous places with his art form. If you like what you hear, check out the album he has available on Soundcloud. I didn’t see this particular song on the album but the sound quality is much better there. I just wanted to give our readers an actual song/video to hear a sample of his work. The album is definitely better.

Leave a Reply

