Masks Completed!

The masks I’ve been working on since last week are finally complete. Yea! There is absolutely nothing like completing a project and knowing it’s ended up exactly as you wanted it to be. So without further ado, here are the photos…and some silly KFA folks, too.

Magiba, as you may recall, designed a butterfly inspired mask. I added feathers to make it match her dress and a few glass beads to make it even more sparkly.

Magiba, as you may recall, designed a butterfly inspired mask. I added feathers to make it match her dress and a few glass beads to make it even more sparkly.

Starshine chose to go monochrome with black and white. She used geometric shapes to design her mask and it's makes me think of the movie 'Mirrormask'. I used some black chain I found in the fabric department to embellish it per her instructions.

Starshine chose to go monochrome with black and white. She used geometric shapes to design her mask and it makes me think of the movie ‘Mirrormask’. I used some black chain I found in the fabric department to embellish it per her instructions.

Nojo's mask was created to match his fabulous coat. I used the same brocade and taffeta fabric I used to make his coat, as well as the same kinds of drop beads.

Nojo’s mask was created to match his fabulous coat. I used the same brocade and taffeta fabric I used to make his coat, as well as the same kinds of drop beads.

First let me say that John does /not/ get into a costume unless he's in a play. So I kept his mask pretty simple. It needed some sparkle or shine so I chose a large flat, black sequin dot fabric and added a nifty metal coil that was a part of an old computer. His mask is so appropriate for him in so many ways.

First let me say that John does /not/ get into a costume unless he’s in a play. So I kept his mask pretty simple. It needed some sparkle or shine so I chose a large flat, black sequin dot fabric and added a nifty metal coil that was a part of an old computer. That coil just screams ‘Steampunk’, don’t you think? His mask is so appropriate for him in so many ways.

My mom had a hand in helping with the embellishments on my mask. She created the fabric trim I applied to the top swirl. I used black netting and a strip of the chiffon fabric I used for the overskirt on my dress. I added some sterling silver wire dripping with drop beads in black and clear/silver. And for the tie, I used some of the black lace I had left over after trimming the bottom hem of my dress. It's kind of heavy so we'll see how it holds up for the event.

My mom had a hand in helping with the embellishments on my mask. She created the fabric trim I applied to the top swirl. I used black netting and a strip of the chiffon fabric I used for the overskirt on my dress. I added some sterling silver wire dripping with drop beads in black and clear/silver. And for the tie, I used some of the black lace I had left over after trimming the bottom hem of my dress. It’s kind of heavy so we’ll see how it holds up for the event.

I have so much fun putting projects like this together. These were detailed and varied enough to keep me interested. But they were not so complex that I felt stressed by the time they were completed. I might be able to offer a helpful hint to some of our readers, too. When hanging or attaching beads or metal pieces to fabric, woven fishing line is great! It is extremely hard to break or cut and will hold up for quite a bit longer than conventional thread, or even the plastic thread meant for fabric projects. I did use black quilting thread on my mask since it would be seen. But I used this fishing line on Nojo’s mask because it goes along with the theme, and on John’s mask because the metal coil is flat and thin. It would definitely have cut through cotton thread. I also affixed Starshine’s chain using the fishing line. To attach the feathers, beads, and pink sequin fabric to Magiba’s mask, I used Fabri-tac fabric glue. Works like a charm! I think when this event is over, I’ll have some wonderful mask art framed and hanging in our house. When you put so much effort into a project, it’s a shame if it never sees the light of day but once!

Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes.  Art is knowing which ones to keep.”  ~Scott Adams

2 thoughts on “Masks Completed!

Leave a Reply

