Promised Photos

Today’s post will contain the photos from our busy weekend and dreary holiday. I finally got my phone to work correctly again. I hope you’ll enjoy these.

First, Starshine wanted lots of detective things for her birthday. So I themed her party along those lines. Working on a budget means you grab ideas from everywhere…sometimes out of the box the gifts were packaged in! I love shopping at Amazon. Lately, they’re using paper as packing material. This time it was thin and brown and crumpled. That was perfect! I carefully unfolded it and smoothed it enough to cut the lengths I needed. I wrapped all her gifts but two in that paper and still had some to spare. I saved it. You never know when brown paper will come in handy! One of the gifts was wrapped in brown paper used specifically for mailing packages. The other was wrapped in a plain, small, brown paper bag I saved from a grocery run. I used a nifty typewriter font in the largest font size possible, to write the word “classified” and printed it up on cardstock. I was able to fit the word on the page three times when printing it on the landscape setting. I used my scrapbooking paper trimmer to cut the words apart. I taped one word onto each package using two strips of thin, black duct tape. I also labeled the packages on those word cards. If I’d had a bit more time, and it wasn’t 3:00 am, I’d have really fixed them up to look like mailed packages. The finishing touch was a bit of twine in copper and white or silver and white to tie them up.  No frills. No bows. No curly ribbon. She’s not really into that kind of thing right now. So I thought I’d share a photo of the packages.

Using recyclable materials to wrap packages is always a win!

Using recyclable materials to wrap packages is always a win!

We weren’t sure what to expect for the Mardi Gras holiday, weather-wise, but I’m pretty sure no one expected icy conditions like these. Still, people did go out and manage to have fun. Here are my photos of the icy plant life and dreary conditions.

It was raining lightly as we drove into town in the morning.

It was raining lightly as we drove into town in the morning.

2nd Street looked somewhat like a ghost town and definitely not like what we expected to see on a Fat Tuesday.

2nd Street looked somewhat like a ghost town and definitely not like what we expected to see on a Fat Tuesday.

By the time the rain and sleet let up, the plants had a beautiful, shiny coat of ice covering them.

By the time the rain and sleet let up, the plants had a beautiful, shiny coat of ice covering them.

One of the rose bushes offered some fantastic photo opportunities.

One of the rose bushes offered some fantastic photo opportunities.

If you want to see a truly fantastic photo of our rose bush and its icy coat, click here to see John’s photo at his blog. He worked his magic again and came out with a beautiful work of art. He’s been doing some fantastic work this year so be sure to check out more of it if you like what you see at the link.

Sunshine is delicious, rain is refreshing, wind braces us up, snow is exhilarating; there is really no such thing as bad weather, only different kinds of good weather.”  ~John Ruskin

And for your listening enjoyment, one of our favorite artists…Shorty Trombone.

Leave a Reply

