Fabulous Friday 31

Howdy! It’s my turn today. (Melody) Since Monday’s post, time has flown by. I’m not sure how it goes so quickly without us noticing it. Yesterday, I read aloud to the girls for the first time in a long time. We’ve decided to finish “Mockingjay” by Suzanne Collins. If you haven’t read the Hunger Games books, I highly recommend them. When I first started the series and finished the first book, I didn’t have the second one on hand and the third one had just been released, I believe. I almost went nuts when there was no real closure at the end of book 1. The second book is no different. If you read them, be sure to borrow all three or buy all three. They’re worth the time and money, in my opinion.

I find that homemaking skills are sadly lacking in this age of electronic gadgets and goodies. There are many online resources and books one can seek out for information, but if you are like me, you’ll do much better when you have a guided lesson. I suggest YouTube tutorials, since there are so many out there. I also suggest checking out blogs and websites dedicated to taking care of the home and family. Here is one resource I’ve found very helpful: The Seasoned Homemaker. You can find her on facebook, at her website, and on Etsy. Her Etsy shop is called Sugar Pie Chic and she sells some pretty fabulous retro apron patterns. You should definitely check it out and support another local small business!

For my third promo, I’m going to probably throw some folks for a loop. One of my SCA musician friends and his daughter introduced us to this. It’s a character design game (or program or whatever-you-want-to-call-it) called ‘Chibi Maker’ and you can find it on Doll Divine at this link. Some of you are now asking, “What in the world is a ‘chibi’?” A chibi is a small, squatty cartoon character with cute features. You find them in manga and anime, usually in comical situations, in my experience. I’m not sure if I’ve shared this website before or not, so please forgive me if it’s a re-share. It really is a lot of fun creating avatars and we’ve even created characters that represent our pets if they walked on two legs instead of four. We have a lot of fun with it. I’ll share one of our creations with you.

The girls asked me to make a representation of our female cat, Grey. This is what I think she would look like if she walked on two legs.

The girls asked me to make a representation of our female cat, Grey. This is what I think she would look like if she walked on two legs.

Seriously, if you aren’t giving your imagination some fun time, dwelling on lighter topics, you’re doing yourself a disservice, in my opinion.

A book is the only place in which you can examine a fragile thought without breaking it, or explore an explosive idea without fear it will go off in your face.  It is one of the few havens remaining where a man’s mind can get both provocation and privacy.”  ~Edward P. Morgan

My second favorite household chore is ironing.  My first being hitting my head on the top bunk bed until I faint.”  ~Erma Bombeck

One is never sure, watching two cats washing each other, whether it’s affection, the taste, or a trial run for the jugular.”  ~Helen Thomson

And for today’s music selection, I hope you’ll enjoy this. Some of you won’t understand the ‘Waffle House’ esthetic, but there’s a jukebox in every one of their restaurants. You don’t really go for the food, though they do have some good choices on the menu. You don’t go just for the jukebox. You don’t even go for the friendly service or the fact that it’s a small place and, on many occasions, a quiet one. It’s sort of a blend of all those things that keeps you going back. When we go, we almost always feed money to the music machine. They’ve changed it up, now, though, and it’s a digitized version of the much better looking jukeboxes that once existed. But they still have this song on it and some of our other traditional favorites. Without further ado…

Leave a Reply

