New Projects Beginning

Here's the beginning of the Moorish Rose chainmail weave. I just started working on it today. It's already looking like it should and I couldn't be happier about that!

Here’s the beginning of the Moorish Rose chainmail weave. I just started working on it today. It’s already looking like it should and I couldn’t be happier about that!

Today I finally got to start on my choker. It’s a fairly straightforward weave and the choker will be be just the right size for what I’m trying to achieve. We have an opportunity to attend a Steampunk event so we’re going to do our best to get there. I’ll have several projects in the works over the next few weeks. I decided it would be super if I could get the choker finished for the event. It will be moderately time consuming but since I’ll be working with aluminum rings, the wear and tear on my hands will be much less. To be honest, after working with stainless steel rings, the aluminum rings feel like putty.

One thing that saddens me is the fact that people assume that just because the rings are bright aluminum, they must be somehow lacking. Bright aluminum rings shine brightly. It’s sort of a cross between silver and chrome. They don’t tarnish. You can purchase a beautiful piece of jewelry and for less expense. The only down side I have found is this. If you get aluminum jewelry wet while wearing it, it will leave a bit of black on your skin. Since this washes off with soap and water, and since my jewelry is created mainly for certain kinds of events (like historical re-enactments and cosplay events), this is hardly a problem.

Perhaps when I wear my new, bright aluminum jewelry, I will be able to show potential customers the beauties of the product, as well as one of the possibilities. I’ll certainly give it my all! I thought I’d share a photo of the beginning steps of my choker. The small piece, shown in the photo above, took approximately 30 minutes. It may go a bit faster when I get used to working with this weave.

Genius is nothing but a great aptitude for patience.”  ~George-Louis de Buffon

 

Leave a Reply

