Tantalizing Toppers

Continuing on the Steampunk theme, one’s costume really isn’t complete without some kind of head gear, even if it’s just a pair of goggles you fixed up to look the part. I’ve finally finished the girls hats. I couldn’t have done it without them and John. They were regular champs! John created the pattern for Starshine’s Nut-n-Bolt hat. It didn’t come out exactly as planned but I have an idea which I’ll try at a later date. It did, however, come out pretty doggone cute. You’ll remember this first picture from a previous post. We chose not to try using those can lids at this time. Time is ticking away and we’re seriously running out of it.

Here are the pieces of the Nut 'n' Bolt mini hat

Here are the pieces of the Nut ‘n’ Bolt mini hat.

Work in progress…

I tasked the girls to help me paint the window screen with various metallic fingernail polishes. We set our work on top of some tissue paper that had a shiny side and we now have some interesting looking gift wrap!

I tasked the girls to help me paint the window screen with various metallic fingernail polishes. We set our work on top of some tissue paper that had a shiny side and we now have some interesting looking gift wrap!

Here's the completed Nut-n-Bolt hat. Making hats is a slow...very slow process. I decided to add a black felt fabric to give the hat some much needed stability. The window screen just wasn't sturdy enough on its own.

Here’s the completed Nut-n-Bolt hat. Making hats is a slow…very slow process. I decided to add a black felt fabric to give the hat some much needed stability. The window screen just wasn’t sturdy enough on its own.

Magiba’s hat was another thing entirely. She wanted a hat similar to Sophie Hatter from the movie “Howl’s Moving Castle.” My original plan was to make the same little cherries Sophie has on her hat but it seemed like it would be a little more time consuming. We opted for flowers created with the selvedge edge of some sequin dot fabric and a few metal leaf forms and embellishments. We started with a sturdy mesh skull cap as the base. I covered it with pieces of burlap fabric. I used more glue than was healthy for me or my budget but I think it turned out well.

Here are the parts I gathered to make the Sophie-styled hat.

Here are the parts I gathered to make the Sophie-styled hat. You’ll see some fabulous little ‘medicine’ bottles I wanted to fit into the hat design. I had it in mind to make her persona into an apothecary. Unfortunately, I couldn’t figure out how to work them in with the kind of space I had available. We’ll use them another way. They’re too fabulous not to use!

Here's the completed Sophie-Styled hat. It looks deceptively easy, doesn't it?

Here’s the completed Sophie-Styled hat. It looks deceptively easy, doesn’t it?

You can’t really see the lower decoration, which is also the most steampunk decoration on this hat. The metal leaves (there are 3 of them) were scalped from some old jewelry I don’t use anymore and the little charm you can barely see at the bottom was found on sale at Walmart. The fabric was remnants. The brown grosgrain ribbon was something I had leftover from a previous project. The burlap fabric was given to me years ago. I love that I’m finding opportunities to use all these odds and ends to make fabulous things!

Both Magiba and Starshine love their hats, though Starshine is a bit skeptical about how hers will stay on. (I added a couple of metal eyelets large enough for a hairstick to pass through. It won’t be falling off if I have a say in the matter.)

Today I’m working on John’s military Jacket and I’ll post photos of that in tomorrow’s blog post. Thanks for stopping by!

What a strange power there is in clothing.”Ā  ~Isaac Bashevis Singer

Leave a Reply

