Steampunk Military Jacket

I’m sorry I wasn’t able to post yesterday. And today’s post will be quick. I worked almost exclusively on John’s military jacket yesterday and finally finished it early this morning around 3:30. Oh, the things we manage to do when we want something badly enough! It wasn’t perfect but I’m pleased with the results. Only one photo today. Tomorrow, I’ll post pictures from just before and during the event we attended this evening.

I worked for several days to get it to this point but the jacket looked almost exactly as I wanted to. There are 4 rows of gold braid trim, 8 large buttons, 5 large sew-on snaps, the military chain decoration and medals I made earlier on the front. And on the sleeve are 4 rows of piping, scarily placed. I didn't really have anything to go on for the placement. I used some of the measurements from another pattern to help but the sleeves were shaped differently. And there were also the silver bracelet parts that looked like military bars and some gold beads. I glued them on, then sewed them down for reinforcement. A lot of work went into this one.

I worked for several days to get it to this point but the jacket looked almost exactly as I wanted to. There are 4 rows of gold braid trim, 8 large buttons, 5 large sew-on snaps, the military chain decoration and medals I made earlier on the front. And on the sleeve are 4 rows of piping, scarily placed. I didn’t really have anything to go on for the placement. I used some of the measurements from another pattern to help but the sleeves were shaped differently. I also have to thank our son for helping me out with the placement of everything. He suggested keeping the braid down to only the left side and I think it worked beautifully. He also helped me with the placement of the chain.  Lastly, on the left sleeve, there were the silver bracelet parts that looked like military bars and some gold beads I glued on, then sewed down for reinforcement. A lot of work went into this one.

As I said, tomorrow’s post will be the pictures from today’s event. I hope you’ll visit again to see them. I’m pretty exhausted today and all my proofreaders are now catching some Zees. I apologize for any misspellings, grammatical errors, or typos.

Valor is stability, not of legs and arms, but of courage and the soul.”  ~Michel de Montaigne

2 thoughts on “Steampunk Military Jacket

Leave a Reply

