Experimenting With Mixed Media Art

I’ve never done a whole lot with mixed media art, except where our scrapbooks are concerned. I decided it might be fun to give it a try. I bought some canvas panels, since they were a bit less costly than canvas. This is an experiment and I don’t want to invest too much before figuring out if I really like it. It’s even more important that other folks like the work since I plan to sell them eventually. Here’s what I came up with so far.

I started with a fabric mask, embroidered at the shop where I work part-time, some paperboard flowers and a blank canvas panel.

I started with a fabric mask, embroidered at the shop where I work part-time, some paperboard flowers and a blank canvas panel.

My panel didn’t stay white for long. Paint is something I know I will use so I bought several colors that seemed somewhat vintage. To cover the panel, I used a wide, flat paint brush and coated all but the bottom quarter of my panel with a turquoise blue. I then used a metallic peridot green to coat the rest of the panel, drawing it over the blue. I thought this gave the feel of grass and sky and went well with the flower pieces and mask I chose to use. The fabric mask is a cream colored jaquard with light, metallic gold scrolls throughout. The embroidery was done in black.

As I needed only a small amount of embellishing on my mask, I chose to use tiny brass scrapbooking brads to accent some of the embroidered curls. I put all my pieces on the canvas (after the paint had dried!) to see how the placement worked. When I saw I had lots of open space, I decided to add a ‘sign’ made from a coordinating scrapbook paper scrap and a printed vellum sheet which said, “I am here to live out loud.” I used another brad to attach the pieces of paper together and used scrapbook photo stickers to adhere it to the panel. I dabbed a bit of glue at the corners to be sure it sticks. I also used the same photo stickers and glue to adhere the flowers to the panel. I used fabri-tac glue to stick the mask onto the panel. Then I let it all dry overnight. I used regular non-toxic glue for the flowers and sign. My concern is that it may not be strong enough. So this panel is my prototype. What do you think? I’d appreciate your opinion. It might also help to know I have several masks on hand to choose from when creating the next two panels. If any of you have any theme suggestions, I’m game to try making those ideas come to life. The final artworks that pass my test will be put up at Etsy for sale, along with a few other items.

I think I'm going to call it "Sunshine" because it makes me think of summer and gardens and sunshine and laughter.

I think I’m going to call it “Sunshine” because it makes me think of summer and gardens and sunshine and laughter.

I question not if thrushes sing,
If roses load the air;
Beyond my heart I need not reach
When all is summer there.”
~John Vance Cheney

2 thoughts on “Experimenting With Mixed Media Art

  1. I really like this! I love the colours you’ve used. It is nice and bright, and I like the way the elements extend over the edge of the panel. I’m looking forward to seeing the next two panels!

    Like

Leave a Reply

