More Masked Projects!

I’ve started work on the largest of the mixed media art pieces I’ll be doing. The canvas is 18 x 18. I wanted to showcase three masks in Mardi Gras colors and work in a Mardi Gras background. I’m up to step three, which is decorating the masks. I want each one to be unique in more ways than the fabric and mask designs. Here are two pictures showing the work so far. The lighting in our kitchen is terrible but the photos came out clear enough to grasp the idea behind the project.

The first step was to paint the canvas black. They didn't have a black canvas in the size I wanted to use. The colors of paint I'm using are black, purple, pale antique gold, metallic green-gold, and white.

The first step was to paint the canvas black. They didn’t have a black canvas in the size I wanted to use. The colors of paint I’m using are black, purple, pale antique gold, metallic green-gold, and white.

I used the colorful paints to create a simple background of different confetti. Then I placed the masks on top to determine a pleasing placement. I also attempted to roughly plan out what I wanted to embellish the masks with. The only one that stayed the way it is in the picture is the green horned mask. I used brass beads to embellish it.

I used the colorful paints to create a simple background of different confetti. Then I placed the masks on top to determine a pleasing placement. I also attempted to roughly plan out what I wanted to embellish the masks with. The only one that stayed the way it is in the picture is the green horned mask. I used brass beads to embellish it.

All in all, the project is coming along nicely, though it will take time. I’m having to work on it around my work and family time schedule. I’ll keep updating you on the progress. I got the masks embroidered at Sew What Embroidery and Screenprinting based in Branch, LA. You can check them out by clicking here to get to their facebook page. The green one is embroidered in black and the fabric is a gold/green dragon brocade. The white one has pale gold embroidered scrolls on the fabric and it’s embroidered in pale gold. I’ll be using black and silver beads to embellish it. The purple one is a stretch lace fabric with hologram sequins on it. It’s embroidered in green. I’ll be using chain and metal scales to embellish it. I’m also going to use different kinds of fabrics and pictures to add to the background. Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read!

To live is so startling it leaves little time for anything else.” ~Emily Dickinson

2 thoughts on “More Masked Projects!

Leave a Reply

