Fabulous Friday 58

I must confess, I’ve been in a slump lately. My creative well has been running dry. I have ideas…but I can’t seem to put them together in a pleasing format. It’s a bit discouraging but I’m going to keep pressing on. And just to keep you in the know, there will be some drastic changes to the blog reflecting the drastic changes we are making as a family and in the direction we are taking with our businesses. Yes. Businesses. As in more than one. More on that in future posts…on to the fabulosity! (For those who had to think about that word, /thank you/! I did make that word up but don’t you think it /should/ exist?)

This Fabulous Friday post will be a bit different than previous posts. I’m going proactive with this post and sharing things I’ve researched that I think my family might enjoy. As I’ve mentioned on several occasions, we function on a very strict and tight budget. Even our fun stuff has to be done through thrifty or frugal means and with careful planning. It’s not a bad thing, though. We often get to do and see cool things no one else even realizes exists! Here are three cool places/things to do that I’d like for our family to check out in the upcoming months. Maybe these will inspire you to make a trip to our state or even look around in your own state for fun, frugal activities available to the public.

When looking for free things to do, always check big cities. They have more business, usually have more tourists, and are usually looking for ways to encourage more people to come check out what they have to offer. I did an internet search for ‘free things to do in LA’, which is always terrible…because we do not live anywhere close to Los Angeles! I then searched for free things to do in Louisiana, which pulled up several options. I found some in a city that’s pretty close to home for us.

Jennings, La. offers several free things to do and see and I’m leaning towards viewing the alligators at ‘Chateau de Cocodries’. This isn’t the only attraction, though! I thought we might bring a picnic lunch and chill out at the Louisiana Oil and Gas Park. And there are several other things of interest in the city that would make a day trip worth while. You can check them out for yourself at this webpage!

Then I remembered that New Orleans is close enough to us for a day trip. We’d actually been tossing this idea around for a while but since we didn’t know exactly what we wanted to do once we got there, we hadn’t really made any plans. As it happens, there are enough free and frugal activities available in New Orleans to keep us day-tripping for a while! These are two I thought might interest our readers.

I love music. If I could only pick one art to focus on, it would definitely be music. Something going on next weekend that our readers might enjoy is the Satchmo Summerfest. If you are close enough and you have the means to get there, I bet this will be a fantastic event to attend. And best of all, it’s free to get in!

And since this page is dedicated to the arts, I’m going to suggest visiting Studio Inferno, where you can witness glass blowing in action. There are at least 3 places in New Orleans in which you can see glass blowers working on their art. They all have their nifty aspects. This one appealed to me the most because it seemed a bit more earthy and less classical. Perhaps it was the page presentation? I’m not sure, but this is the one I hope we will visit first. The other two options are Rosetree Glass Studio (looks like a super classy joint and I hope they don’t shoot me for phrasing it that way!) and Glassworks. Glassworks would be my second choice, since they offer the option of being able to do glass blowing and creating to the folks who come in. Nothing is said about the cost for this on the information page but I’m sure they’d be more than happy to inform you when you call them at the number provided there.

Grasp your opportunities, no matter how poor your health; nothing is worse for your health than boredom.”  ~Mignon McLaughlin, The Second Neurotic’s Notebook, 1966

Nobody is bored when he is trying to make something that is beautiful, or to discover something that is true.”  ~William Inge

The cure for boredom is curiosity.  There is no cure for curiosity.”  ~Dorothy Parker

I hope you’ll enjoy this happy little jazz ditty from Good ‘Ol Satchmo, himself. If you don’t know him yet (where have you been?!), then please allow me to introduce you! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Fabulous Friday 58

Leave a Reply

