Updates On The Current Status

I don’t know how to start this blog post so I’m just going to jump in. This past year has been …hectic and chaotic and jumbled and all kinds of disorganized. We’ve run the gamut of emotions from exuberance to complete and utter dejection. In the middle of this crazy roller coaster ride, we’ve had to make some serious life changes.

First, John’s photography will be separate from the rest of our work. We both believe it is necessary to take this step. Secondly, I’m going to start putting my stuff up on Etsy under the name Unchained Emporium. I’ve already started storing items onto the site but I won’t be able to sell anything until I can get the whole business license bit settled, which we’re going to tackle later this week. For what it’s worth, hobby businesses have a lot to overcome in Louisiana and the PTB make it very difficult for small hobby businesses to do anything at all. Technically, you don’t have to have a business license if you do your art as a hobby but I want to make my business into something more than just a hobby. I’d really like to believe you don’t need money to make money but it’s really becoming quite clear to me that we’re going to be climbing up an outward sloping shale cliff. Having said that, I’m not giving up and neither is John. I like what I do. I like the things I make. I’m not changing what I make to fit the trends, so I’m prepared for whatever happens with the sales. John likes what he does. He likes his product. His product is infintely more marketable than mine but I know we both have a niche to fill. And we both have dreams and goals we are working hard to meet.

I’m still working on the larger canvas for my triple mask mixed media art project. The latest photo of my progress is shown below. I wasn’t happy with the scattered confetti and streamers I painted. I wanted something…MORE. So I vented a bit of my frustration on the canvas and I love the result. What do you think?

Now it really looks like a party worthy of New Orleans' Mardi Gras!

Now it really looks like a party worthy of New Orleans’ Mardi Gras!

Considering all the change we’ve been experiencing in our business and our home, I think this quote is quite appropriate. It fits with our personal policies to be truthful and honest in all dealings. It also fits with the masks, just a bit. We all have a tendency to wear masks to protect ourselves, don’t we? But what are we protecting ourselves from? Living life?

Dare to be true: nothing can need a lie: A fault, which needs it most, grows two thereby.” ~George Herbert

6 thoughts on “Updates On The Current Status

  1. The canvas looks great! I can understand your frustrations with trying to make a go of a hobby business. I would dearly love to be able to make a living from writing books and have been trying for several years now. Going down the self-publishing route, it is so hard to get noticed with so many other great authors and books out there. However, as you say, when we love what we do, we will keep doing it anyway, never giving up on those dreams and goals. With the strong motivation and positive attitudes that you and John share, you will most certainly get there. Good luck!

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your kind words of encouragement, Kristah! One of the sayings I remember from my childhood is, “Slow and steady wins the race.” If we need to go slow and steady, then so be it. šŸ™‚ And it’s always nice to know one is not alone in one’s struggles.

      Like

    • And thank you for the compliment on the canvas. It’s so busy! šŸ˜€ I have to laugh because I’ve been trying to work away from busyness and into calmness. It needed to be busier if it was going to go along with what was in my head. Who knows? Maybe I need to get a really large canvas to vent my frustrations on more often. Starshine’s been asking for one of the super-large canvases and I really hope to get one for her soon. I’m interested in seeing what she wants to paint on it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

