Interesting Note

I find it very interesting how encouraging it is to have one’s work on display, and actually enjoyed. Our local cafe is such an awesome place! The owner allows local artists of Eunice to display some of their work. So not only can you get a fabulous cup of coffee (locally brewed in Louisiana), you can also grab a pretty awesome sandwich, check out what the local artists are creating, and sit and visit.

This is our wall of art at Cafe Mosaic Coffee House. Bottom left to top right: 2 of my mask series, John's fleur-de-lis photo at the bottom and peacock feather macro at the very top, Starshines watercolor, Magiba's paper art, another of Starshine's watercolors, 2 more of John's photos, and another mask artwork. I tried to get as many of them as possible in the frame.

This is our wall of art at Cafe Mosaic Coffee House. Bottom left to top right: 2 of my mask series, John’s fleur-de-lis photo at the bottom and peacock feather macro at the very top, Starshines watercolor, Magiba’s paper art, another of Starshine’s watercolors, 2 more of John’s photos, and another mask artwork. I tried to get as many of them as possible in the frame.

I know I’ve mentioned it before but for new followers, our family has a dedicated wall at Cafe Mosaic Coffee House where John can display his photography, Starshine (our oldest daughter) can display her watercolor artwork, Magiba (our youngest daughter) can display her paper art (or any other art she creates), and I can display my art. (Our oldest child isn’t a child anymore and he is an artist of another kind: musically gifted and mechanically inclined.) I was torn for a long time, wanting to leave most of that space for John and the girls and just thinking it would be cool if there happened to be enough room for something I created. For the longest time, I didn’t know what to create.

I tried straw painting. I loved it! My lungs did not.

I tried straw painting. I loved it! My lungs did not. I painted the rocks using a big sloppy paint brush and some watered down acrylic paint.

 

I doodle a good bit. I doodled this design for my next tattoo. You can see where I made some obvious mistakes. I used a pen. ;)

I doodle a good bit. I doodled this design for my next tattoo. You can see where I made some obvious mistakes. I used a pen. 😉 I colored it with watercolor pencils. I think I was using those incorrectly. *wry grin*

But, I didn’t actually have anything to display there. I think I kept telling myself I was supposed to step back, that I was in the supporting role because it was where I’d been all my life. It was what a good wife and mom was supposed to do, right? So that’s what I did. I rarely pushed my own art. I’m not one for the limelight, anyway, though, so it wasn’t like I made a decision that I was forced into. It just “was what it was.” John has really encouraged me a lot in getting my work out there where others can enjoy it, too. I do what I enjoy doing. I enjoy making costumes for my family. I enjoy writing songs. I enjoy singing. I enjoy creating different things, things that make people stop and think…or wonder what I was thinking…or just wonder why. I don’t know if I’m any good at it unless I put it out there and get some opinions from the viewers. I figure people will like, follow, comment, pay attention, etc. if they like what they see. And each like, follow, and comment, each attention paid, really helps me know my art matters to someone in some way and it was the right thing to share it. Even if I never sell one piece, I love these artworks I’m creating. There will be a place for them, a good purpose.

I know I probably went overboard with the words tonight. This post was supposed to be about how interesting it was to find I’m having an easier time posting every day now that I have let go of ‘having’ to post every day. I guess it helps, too, that I gave my blog a facelift and a narrower focus. Tomorrow, I hope to have more photos of the current Mask project to share with you. It’s coming along but I have to work slowly on days when I have my part time work and theater work to do. Until next time…

“You already have every characteristic necessary for success if you recognize, claim, develop and use them .” ~ Zig Ziglar

2 thoughts on “Interesting Note

Leave a Reply

