Mask Series #7: Update

As promised, here’s an update of what I’ve done lately on Mask Series #7 mixed media art project. It’s not much but this part took a good bit of time to paint and dry and figure out. I hope you’ll enjoy the photo. The mask has one dragon eye and one mechanical eye. I purposely edited it with a mysterious and creepy feel. It seemed to go well with those mismatched eyes. I’m really liking it, though! And still having fun!

Here are the eyes of the mask I'm working on for this artwork. I backed the eye holes with black/gold mesh fabric. Then I painted two glass flat-backed floral marbles with fingernail polish. Then I affixed them to the mesh fabric with Fabri-tac. It's an experiment right now. I'm not sure how well the Fabri-tac will hold. I'll test it out for a while. I might even bring this one back home after displaying it for a while. I'm really enjoying those mismatched eyes!

Here are the eyes of the mask I’m working on for this artwork. I backed the eye holes with black/gold mesh fabric. Then I painted two glass flat-backed floral marbles with fingernail polish. Then I affixed them to the mesh fabric with Fabri-tac. It’s an experiment right now. I’m not sure how well the Fabri-tac will hold. I’ll test it out for a while. I might even bring this one back home after displaying it for a while. I’m really enjoying those mismatched eyes!

For the creation of the eyes, I used a wooden tooth pick and fingernail polish in these colors: black, red metallic, gold metallic, ice blue metallic, turquoise blue metallic, and white. I used the white to seal the backs of the marbles. I also find the white really makes the colors more opaque and vibrant. More to come! I hope I will be able to spend a little more time on it tomorrow. Feel free to ask questions or leave a comment below!

“Well daylight struck a chord with my
photo-receptors
Night greeted me with a sea of stars
Our eyes all flashed blues and greens
through the night”

~ taken from the song “Automatonic Electronic Harmonics” written by David Michael Bennet, performed by Steam Powered Giraffee

And there’s your completely blatant clue as to where this project is heading. But I promise you, it will definitely be an odd take on the genre. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Mask Series #7: Update

    • Thank you so much, Kristah! I’m really excited about this piece. I have a lot on my plate right now so the work is moving along slowly. But, as the saying goes, slow and steady wins the race. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

