Today’s Art Challenge: Tiny Treasures

Today’s art challenge was “The Buried Treasure”. I started out with a different idea, once again, and it morphed into what you see here. Mixed media ~ I used acrylic paints and semi-precious stone chips which include at the very least, rose and clear quartz, several kinds of beautiful agates, tiger eye and snowflake obsidian. There are others but I don’t know all the names right off the top of my head. The stones should look really nice in certain lighting, as well as the gold, silver and copper metallics in the ‘dirt’. 🙂 My inspiration? A mud pile Magiba was building under our carport. I’ll share a photo of that, too. Magiba is a great source of inspiration. She loves bright colors, rock collecting, small critters, and making mud pies. And she also loves painting. I hope she never loses her love of those things!

My submission for today's art challenge ~ "Tiny Treasures" ~ It is available to purchase as a print on my deviantART profile, which you can get to by clicking the photo.

My submission for today’s art challenge ~ “Tiny Treasures” ~ It is available to purchase as a print on my deviantART profile, which you can get to by clicking the photo.

This is the mud volcano Magiba has built under our carport. I sometimes wish I heard all her conversations while she's playing. She talks the entire time and it's always interesting, certainly never boring!  Clicking this photo will also take you to "Tiny Treasures" on my deviantART page.

This is the mud volcano Magiba has built under our carport. I sometimes wish I heard all her conversations while she’s playing. She talks the entire time and it’s always interesting, certainly never boring! Clicking this photo will also take you to “Tiny Treasures” on my deviantART page.

Another happy thing of note, we are now members of our new local art gallery. Yea! John is submitting 3 of his photos and I am submitting 3 of my mixed media art pieces (“Into the Inner Workings” and “Mated” – Mask series #s 7, 8a, and 8b). The girls will each have 2 pieces on display. Magiba created her paintings in acrylics and Starshine used watercolors.

Tomorrow, I’m going to be reblogging a few posts. I hope to spread them out through the day so they’re not overwhelming. I’ll be doing that on both this blog and my Muddled Mawkishness blog, which is where I blog about music and, from time to time, some personal things. I try to keep this blog more focused on things relating to my business. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Today’s Art Challenge: Tiny Treasures

Leave a Reply

