Full Steampunk Ahead!

OK…so it’s a cheesy title, but it’s true. The Steampunk and Makers Fair, taking place in Lafayette, LA tomorrow, is a nifty event that many people in the city get involved in. There are actually a few educational activities to attend, two kinds of dancing to watch, live music, vendors and more! I don’t know how long we’ll get to stay but it would be interesting if we could stay for the costume contest. There’s also a car show going on tomorrow and we’d like to take a gander at the spread there, too. I’m not sure what would be more interesting. Staying for the costume contest? Or perusing classic cars in Steampunk garb? Either option is sure to be pretty interesting. Here’s a photo of the medals I created for this go round. I’ll explain this one because I’m fairly certain no one has clicked through to my deviantART account yet and these need a bit of explanation.

"Steampunk Military Medals Round 2" - photo by Melody Kittles - These are Upper left to Upper Right, Lower Left To Lower Right, and then left to right for the singles: Two Rank Patches, 2 medallion key medals, one phoenix medal, and one dirigible service medal. Clicking the photo will take you to my deviantART page.

“Steampunk Military Medals Round 2” – photo by Melody Kittles – These are Upper left to Upper Right, Lower Left To Lower Right, and then left to right for the singles: Two Rank Patches, 2 medallion key medals, one phoenix medal, and one dirigible service medal. Clicking the photo will take you to my deviantART page.

The two rank patches at the upper left were created using Ansteorran Star ribbon I purchased while we were still active in the Society for Creative Anachronism. The metal bits on each are two gear findings each, one nifty bead separator each, one red brad for the Captain, and one white brad for the First Mate. The medallion key medals are back with red/white striped grosgrain ribbon. I haven’t finished the story on these yet. The phoenix medal doesn’t have a story either. My dirigible service medal is different from the Captain’s because I haven’t been in the dirigible service quite as along. I hope you enjoy the photo. I’ll be sure to post photos of the updated costumes after tomorrow’s event.

3 thoughts on “Full Steampunk Ahead!

  1. RMW says:

    I looked at your Deviant Art site and regarding your comment there, to be a creative person you can’t get involved in outside distractions… you have to block everything out.. it’s part of the deal!
    These medals are great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

