Holiday Art

I’ve been so overwhelmed with the direction my life is going right now. However, I have had time to squeeze in some art on the side. These two pieces were created for a holiday card drive which was posted on deviantArt. I used the opportunity as both a school project and an art club project. I’m not sure I posted about that but our daughters wanted to start a club. Since they and several of their friends are interested in art of all kinds, we decided on an art club. We’ve had three meetings so far and the club members are all doing their best to make the club fun and successful.

My challenge was to create a holiday card that sent out my true wishes and also maintained a non-religion-specific message. First I tried creating a fractal. I had so much fun using Chaotica to create this! I watched a YouTube tutorial to learn what the different tools and settings did and then ended up with this.

Bright Days

“Bright Days” was created in Chaotica by Melody Kittles. To purchase a magnet or coffee mug with this fractal on it, please visit my deviantArt gallery at http://pianolady32.deviantart.com/art/Bright-Days-577637713

I’m so happy with how the fractal turned out but it just wasn’t what I really wanted for this card. So I created this mixed media artwork with ink and acrylics.

Christmas Card 2015

“Christmas Card 2015” is a mixed media artwork created by Melody Kittles. If you would like to purchase a print, card, or print gift, please visit my deviantArt page here: http://pianolady32.deviantart.com/art/Christmas-Card-2015-577649924

I’m also happy with how this card turned out. I had a lot of fun creating the blue for the night sky and painting in the little gold stars. Very storybook-like! And I really like how the copper edging on the brown border really added a nice depth.

If you’d like to purchase one of these in a format not available on deviantArt, please leave a comment and I’ll see what I can do. Thanks for stopping by!

9 thoughts on “Holiday Art

  1. Nice work. So, those top two were done with some sort of fractal program? I don’t know what they are, what they represent, or anything, but they ARE cool. And nice job on the card and thanks for popping on over. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I used a program called Chaotica. You can find it online. There’s a basic version that’s free and it’s the one I’m using for now. I’d love to upgrade, though. The lovely thing about fractals is their organic quality. The interpretation is entirely up to the viewer, unless you manipulate the fractal post-process in a program like Gimp or Photoshop. I’ve only just begun to experiment with Chaotica so I can’t wait to see what else I can do! Thanks for your kind comment on my card, as well! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • What talent I have is relegated to taking pictures and composing them the best I can, other than a couple of writing blogs, anyway. LOL Have a great year!

        Like

      • LOL I’m no pro at it, that’s for certain! I watched a tutorial on how to use the program to get me started. I’ll have to re-watch because it’s been too long since I tried to make another one. Not sure this is talent so much as a desire to make my own fractals! XD I wish you a great year, too! And thanks for commenting!

        Liked by 1 person

      • I think fractals are so interesting. They’re so much more different and much more variety than when they first came out eons ago, meaning for the average Joe to be able to do them.

        Like

      • Indeed! I think it was a matter of getting the image zoomed in enough to see. Have you researched fractals? There are a few good places to visit online for more in depth information. It’s so interesting to me that fractals are all around us in nature!

        Liked by 1 person

      • No, I’ve never researched them, except when they first came out, a little bit on the computer end of it. My background is in computer programming, so they sort of peaked my interest for awhile.

        Like

      • I see! That’s how I started my search into the information and history of them. Beyond that, I didn’t know how to create them. It took years before I had a connection who I could ask about it. I’m so glad I did! I hope you have a great week! I’ve really enjoyed talking with you. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

